AI MEMORY APPS

The best AI memory apps in 2026

An AI memory app keeps what you tell it, or what it sees, so you or your assistant can recall it later. The best one depends on what you want captured and where you want it kept. Compare capture, assistant connections and export before choosing. A notes app, a screen recorder and a shared memory service do different jobs.

Last checked

Quick picks

Our view, not a ranking or a score.

Comparison table

Nine AI memory apps compared, checked 19 October 2026
AppFree tierCheapest paid (as shown)Works with assistantsExportWhere data is stored
AI Twin7 days free, no card£18 a month (Personal)Claude and other MCP assistantsExport any timeUK
MemYes$9 a month (Plus)MCP: Claude, ChatGPT and othersMarkdownNot stated
LittlebirdYes (Basic)$17 a month, billed yearlyMCP on PlusOn requestAWS, US East region
MemoryPluginNo (7-day trial, card needed)$89 a year (Core)ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, MCPOn requestPrimarily the US
Reflect OpenMac app freeiPhone price not setBring your own API keyPlain Markdown filesYour device or iCloud
MemXFree to startNot publishedNot publishedPortable downloadIndia, US or EU
Notion AIAI trial onlyUS$20 per member a month (Business)MCP: Claude, ChatGPT ProMarkdown, CSV, HTML, PDFEU on Enterprise only
Saner.aiYes$8 a month (Starter)MCP not publishedYes, format not stated"Anywhere in the world"
Microsoft RecallPart of Windows 11 on Copilot+ PCsn/aNot publishedExport only on EEA devices, so not in the UKOn your PC

Prices as shown on each vendor's site on 19 October 2026. Most do not name the currency. Not stated means we could not find it published.

Each app in brief

AI Twin

AI Twin is a personal AI memory layer, built in the UK. It keeps what matters to you as typed, searchable memory stored in the UK, and assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission. Your Twin holds what you put into it. Every item below becomes typed memory you can read, edit, export, and delete. Captures wait in Pending Review until you confirm them. Every meaningful action is logged in an append-only audit log you can read. It is web only today. No. AI Twin does not record your screen or your surroundings.

Last checked

Mem

Mem is an AI notes app for people who want their notes to be the starting point. It accepts notes, voice, chat, email-in, WhatsApp and web clips, on Web, Mac, Windows and iOS. Mem MCP works with Claude, ChatGPT and Claude Code, and notes can be exported as Markdown. Mem says it does not train general models on user data. Its data location is not stated in the sources we checked, which matters if storage location is a deciding factor.

Last checked

Littlebird

Littlebird is a desktop assistant that reads your active screen and meeting audio. It suits people who want capture while they work rather than a notes-only store. It runs on Apple Silicon Macs and Windows, with iOS and Android companion apps. MCP is on Plus. Littlebird says it uses AWS, US East region, and does not train on your data (verified 21 October 2026). The central limitation is also the capture model: it watches your screen, which some people will not want.

Last checked

MemoryPlugin

MemoryPlugin is a shared memory service across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and more than 20 tools. Browser extensions, MCP and a Custom GPT provide different ways to use the same memory. It suits people who mainly work in browser-based assistants and want context to travel between them. There is no free tier, and the seven-day trial needs a card. Data is stored primarily in the US, and the service is operated from India. That makes it a different storage choice from a UK-held memory service.

Last checked

Reflect Open

Reflect relaunched in July 2026 as Reflect Open, an open-source app with notes stored as local Markdown files. It suits people who want files they can keep and read outside the app. The Mac app is free and the iPhone app is on TestFlight, with its price not set. AI use requires your own API key. There is no web, Windows or Android app. Reflect Open drops the old end-to-end encryption, so local files and iCloud storage should not be confused with the previous product's encryption model.

Last checked

MemX

MemX is a mobile memory app for notes, voice, photos and documents, with answers that cite what you supplied. It suits people who want to capture from a phone or WhatsApp rather than a desktop. It supports iOS, Android and WhatsApp, but has no web or desktop app. It is free to start, while paid prices and external assistant connections are not published in the sources we checked. Its privacy policy says data may be stored in India, the US or the EU, rather than naming one location.

Last checked

Notion AI

Notion AI is a workspace agent over your pages and connected apps. It suits a team whose work already lives in Notion, rather than someone seeking only a personal memory store. Full AI is available from Business at US$20 per member a month. Notion MCP works with Claude and ChatGPT Pro. Export includes Markdown, CSV, HTML and PDF. EU hosting is available on Enterprise only, so a Business subscription should not be read as an EU data-residency commitment.

Last checked

Saner.ai

Saner.ai is an AI assistant for notes, email and calendar, built with ADHD users in mind. It suits people who want those parts of their day together rather than a separate assistant-memory connector. It offers web, a Chrome extension and mobile access, with a free tier and a Starter plan. MCP support is not published, and export is available without a stated format. Its privacy policy is dated September 2024 and says data may be stored anywhere in the world, including the US. Check that policy before adding sensitive material.

Last checked

Microsoft Recall

Microsoft Recall is an opt-in Windows feature on Copilot+ PCs. It takes snapshots of your screen and stores them locally, so you can search for things you previously saw. It suits people with eligible Windows hardware who want screen history rather than a memory shared across assistants. Recall export of snapshots is only available on EEA devices, so UK users cannot export their Recall snapshots. That limits how a UK user can leave with a copy. It is not a general-purpose connector for Claude or ChatGPT; external assistant support is not published in the sources we checked.

Last checked

Apps we left out

Limitless

Limitless was acquired by Meta. Pendant sales ended on 5 December 2025. The service was withdrawn from the UK and EU, and accounts there were deleted after 19 December 2025.

Rewind

Limitless said the Rewind app is sunsetting, and that an update disables all screen and audio capture from 19 December 2025.

Personal.ai

Personal.ai has moved to enterprise. We could not find a consumer plan with a published price.

Supermemory is a memory engine for developers rather than a consumer app. Supermemory

How we compared

We compared what each app captures, which assistants it works with, export, where data is stored and price as published. Quick picks are our editorial view of who each app suits, not measured winners. We use no scores or star ratings. A missing published fact is a gap in the evidence, not proof that a feature is absent.

How to choose

  • Privacy and location: check where memory is stored and where it is processed.
  • Capture: decide whether you want deliberate notes, files or screen and meeting capture.
  • Assistant: check the connector and any plan limits for the assistant you use.
  • Leaving: check export formats and restrictions before adding your memory.

Questions about AI memory apps

What is an AI memory app?

An AI memory app keeps what you tell it, or what it sees, so you or your assistant can recall it later. The best one depends on what you want captured and where you want it kept. Compare capture, assistant connections and export before choosing. A notes app, a screen recorder and a shared memory service do different jobs.

Which AI memory app stores data in the UK?

AI Twin is a personal AI memory layer, built in the UK. It keeps what matters to you as typed, searchable memory stored in the UK, and assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission. In this comparison, AI Twin is the app with an explicit UK storage commitment. Local storage, worldwide policies and unpublished regions are different choices.

Can I use one memory with Claude and ChatGPT?

Yes, where the app and your assistant plan support the connection. MemoryPlugin supports both, and Mem publishes MCP support for both. For AI Twin, check the assistant's connector eligibility: Full MCP support, including write actions, is a beta for Business, Enterprise and Edu on ChatGPT on the web. Pro can connect MCP servers with read and fetch permissions in developer mode. Web only. Not available on Plus or Free. Custom connectors over remote MCP on every plan. Free is limited to one.

What happened to Limitless and Rewind?

Limitless was acquired by Meta. Pendant sales ended on 5 December 2025. The service was withdrawn from the UK and EU, and accounts there were deleted after 19 December 2025. Limitless said the Rewind app is sunsetting, and that an update disables all screen and audio capture from 19 December 2025.

Is Microsoft Recall available with export in the UK?

Recall is a Windows feature on eligible Copilot+ PCs, but UK export is not available. Recall export of snapshots is only available on EEA devices, so UK users cannot export their Recall snapshots.

Is there a free AI memory app?

Mem, Littlebird Basic and Saner.ai have free tiers. Reflect Open's Mac app is free, and MemX is free to start. AI Twin offers a trial rather than a permanent free plan. Everything is free for the first 7 days. No card needed. Add one when you decide to stay.