MEMORYPLUGIN ALTERNATIVES
What are the best MemoryPlugin alternatives?
We make AI Twin, which is on this list.
MemoryPlugin shares memory across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and other tools through browser extensions, MCP and a Custom GPT, using US infrastructure. Your alternative depends on connection: built-in ChatGPT or Claude memory, an MCP server such as Supermemory, Mem0 or Basic Memory, or AI Twin, which stores your memory in the UK.
Last verified
MemoryPlugin platforms and pricing. Verified .
MemoryPlugin trust. Verified .
What is MemoryPlugin, and why look for an alternative?
You might want a different storage location, a local file you control, or memory inside one assistant rather than another subscription. Compare the connection you actually need before paying.
MemoryPlugin shares one memory across 21+ AI tools, including ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, DeepSeek, Mistral, Cursor, Claude Code and Codex. It connects through Chrome and Safari browser extensions, a Custom GPT, an MCP server, a TypingMind plugin and an OpenAPI spec. Its FAQ describes a macOS sync app, but the feature list also labels the desktop app coming soon. MemoryPlugin platforms and pricing. Verified .
MemoryPlugin Core is shown as $89 a year, with the last 500 chat conversations and unlimited memories. Pro is $180 a year, with unlimited chat history and a knowledge graph in early beta. Prices use a $ sign without a currency code. Its 7-day free trial needs a card, and a refund can be requested within 14 days of a charge. MemoryPlugin pricing. Verified .
How do the MemoryPlugin alternatives compare?
| Product | How it connects | Where memory is stored | Published price | Export |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MemoryPlugin | MemoryPlugin shares one memory across 21+ AI tools, including ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, DeepSeek, Mistral, Cursor, Claude Code and Codex. It connects through Chrome and Safari browser extensions, a Custom GPT, an MCP server, a TypingMind plugin and an OpenAPI spec. Its FAQ describes a macOS sync app, but the feature list also labels the desktop app coming soon. MemoryPlugin platforms and pricing. Verified . | MemoryPlugin uses US-based infrastructure. EU and UK transfers rely on Standard Contractual Clauses. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, but is not end-to-end encrypted. Named sub-processors include Supabase, Zilliz, Vercel, Trigger.dev and Resend. AI features send relevant content to providers including OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, without zero-data-retention agreements. MemoryPlugin trust. Verified . MemoryPlugin is operated by Crestify Solutions Private Limited in India. Its privacy policy describes primarily US-based vendors and Standard Contractual Clauses for EU and UK transfers. MemoryPlugin privacy policy. Verified . | MemoryPlugin Core is shown as $89 a year, with the last 500 chat conversations and unlimited memories. Pro is $180 a year, with unlimited chat history and a knowledge graph in early beta. Prices use a $ sign without a currency code. Its 7-day free trial needs a card, and a refund can be requested within 14 days of a charge. MemoryPlugin pricing. Verified . | MemoryPlugin memory buckets export as CSV, JSON or plain text. Conversations export as Markdown or JSON. Uploaded files are not included. MemoryPlugin trust: export. Verified . |
| AI Twin | Assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission. Nothing is saved until you confirm. Full MCP support, including write actions, is a beta for Business, Enterprise and Edu on ChatGPT on the web. Pro can connect MCP servers with read and fetch permissions in developer mode. Web only. Not available on Plus or Free. OpenAI Help Centre: Developer mode and MCP. Verified . | UK | Personal is £18 a month. Everything is free for the first 7 days. No card needed. Add one when you decide to stay. | Export any time. |
| ChatGPT built-in memory | Two parts: saved memories, which are stored separately from chat history, and reference chat history, which lets ChatGPT use relevant information from past chats. ChatGPT can decide what to remember, or you can ask it. You view and manage both in Settings, Personalization, Memory. OpenAI says features vary by plan, region, platform and workspace settings. OpenAI Help Centre: Memory FAQ. Verified . | not stated | OpenAI said on 3 June 2025 that free users get a lightweight version of memory that gives short-term continuity across conversations, while Plus and Pro get a longer-term understanding. OpenAI: Memory and new controls for ChatGPT. Verified . OpenAI's help centre says memory features vary by plan, region, platform and workspace settings. OpenAI Help Centre: Memory in ChatGPT. Verified . | Settings, Data controls, Export data gives a ZIP of chat history and account data, with a link that expires after 24 hours from receipt. Exports can take up to 7 days to arrive. Available on Free, Go, Plus, Pro and eligible Edu workspaces, not Business or Enterprise. Memory is not named as part of the export. OpenAI Help Centre: Exporting your ChatGPT history and data. Verified . |
| Claude built-in memory | Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. You toggle Memory from chats under Settings, Your Claude (Settings, Memory in the older layout). It is saved as individual topics you can view, edit or delete under Manage. Each project has its own memory: within a project Claude uses that project's memory plus memory from chats outside projects, not other projects' memory, and Use account memory can be turned off per project. Deleting a conversation does not remove memories made from it. Incognito chats are not saved to memory. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified . | not stated | Paid plan prices: not stated in the cited memory article. Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. You toggle Memory from chats under Settings, Your Claude (Settings, Memory in the older layout). It is saved as individual topics you can view, edit or delete under Manage. Each project has its own memory: within a project Claude uses that project's memory plus memory from chats outside projects, not other projects' memory, and Use account memory can be turned off per project. Deleting a conversation does not remove memories made from it. Incognito chats are not saved to memory. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified . | Claude memory is exported from Settings, Your Claude, Manage next to Your memory, or by asking Claude to write out its memories of you verbatim, then copying the text into a file. Claude says imports are experimental and its memory focuses on work-related topics, so personal details may not be kept. Claude Help Centre: Importing and exporting your memory from Claude. Verified . |
| Supermemory | Supermemory MCP is a remote server at https://mcp.supermemory.ai/mcp. It uses OAuth, so no API key is needed, and in Claude it is added as a custom connector. Supermemory docs: Supermemory MCP. Verified . | not stated | Supermemory's pricing page lists Free at $0 a month with $5 of credits renewed monthly, Pro at $19 a month, Max at $100 a month, Scale at $399 a month and custom Enterprise. Prices are shown with a $ sign and no currency code. It is available through its API, plugins and MCP. Storage region is not stated on the pricing page. Supermemory pricing. Verified . | not stated |
| Mem0 | Mem0 runs a hosted MCP server at https://mcp.mem0.ai/mcp; nothing runs on your machine. Sign-in is in the browser by default, or with an API key, and it needs a Mem0 Platform account. Its setup page lists Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and OpenCode, and does not mention ChatGPT. In Claude you add it as a custom connector. The page does not say which Mem0 plans include MCP. Mem0 docs: MCP integration. Verified . | Mem0's privacy policy says personal information is stored and processed on cloud infrastructure run by its providers, some of which, and Mem0's own operations, are in the United States and other countries. It does not name a UK storage option. Mem0 privacy policy. Verified . | Mem0's pricing page lists Hobby free with 10,000 add requests and 1,000 retrieval requests a month, Starter at $19 a month, Pro at $249 a month and a custom Enterprise plan. Prices are shown with a $ sign and no currency code. Mem0 pricing. Verified . | not stated |
| Basic Memory | Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified . | Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified . | Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified . | Local notes are Markdown files on your disk. A separate export process is not stated in the cited source. Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified . |
| MCP reference memory server | The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified . | The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified . | No paid licence price: MIT licensed. The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified . | Local JSON file. A separate export process is not stated. The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified . |
Which alternative suits you?
These are editorial choices, not ratings. If you only use one assistant, start with its built-in memory. If you want local files and are comfortable with setup, consider Basic Memory or the reference server. For a developer integration, compare Mem0 and Supermemory.
Two parts: saved memories, which are stored separately from chat history, and reference chat history, which lets ChatGPT use relevant information from past chats. ChatGPT can decide what to remember, or you can ask it. You view and manage both in Settings, Personalization, Memory. OpenAI says features vary by plan, region, platform and workspace settings. OpenAI Help Centre: Memory FAQ. Verified .
Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. You toggle Memory from chats under Settings, Your Claude (Settings, Memory in the older layout). It is saved as individual topics you can view, edit or delete under Manage. Each project has its own memory: within a project Claude uses that project's memory plus memory from chats outside projects, not other projects' memory, and Use account memory can be turned off per project. Deleting a conversation does not remove memories made from it. Incognito chats are not saved to memory. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .
Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified .
The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .
Mem0 runs a hosted MCP server at https://mcp.mem0.ai/mcp; nothing runs on your machine. Sign-in is in the browser by default, or with an API key, and it needs a Mem0 Platform account. Its setup page lists Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and OpenCode, and does not mention ChatGPT. In Claude you add it as a custom connector. The page does not say which Mem0 plans include MCP. Mem0 docs: MCP integration. Verified .
Supermemory MCP is a remote server at https://mcp.supermemory.ai/mcp. It uses OAuth, so no API key is needed, and in Claude it is added as a custom connector. Supermemory docs: Supermemory MCP. Verified .
Where does MemoryPlugin store your data, and does that matter in the UK?
UK storage is one part of your decision, not a substitute for checking processing, access, transfers and retention. Read the provider terms before adding sensitive information.
AI Twin memory storage: UK. Your memory and files are stored in the United Kingdom. AI inference, speech to text and email are processed in the European Union. Two optional lookups, web search and place search, are off until you turn them on. When on, the words of your search go to the provider, with your saved town for near-me searches and your country code. Never your account details. Answers may come from the United States.
MemoryPlugin uses US-based infrastructure. EU and UK transfers rely on Standard Contractual Clauses. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, but is not end-to-end encrypted. Named sub-processors include Supabase, Zilliz, Vercel, Trigger.dev and Resend. AI features send relevant content to providers including OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, without zero-data-retention agreements. MemoryPlugin trust. Verified .
MemoryPlugin is operated by Crestify Solutions Private Limited in India. Its privacy policy describes primarily US-based vendors and Standard Contractual Clauses for EU and UK transfers. MemoryPlugin privacy policy. Verified .
MemoryPlugin deletes are permanent. Deleted synced chats can return on the next sync unless excluded. Deleted content can remain in encrypted backups until normal rotation, typically within 30 days. To close your account, email support; deletion is targeted within 30 days. MemoryPlugin trust: deletion. Verified .
MemoryPlugin removes deleted content from active indexes, but it may remain in encrypted backups until rotation. MemoryPlugin privacy policy: retention. Verified .
Can you take your memory with you when you switch?
Keep your original export. A new service may accept only part of it, and an import is not proof that every detail arrived.
Export from MemoryPlugin
Save memory buckets and conversations separately in a format you can read.
MemoryPlugin memory buckets export as CSV, JSON or plain text. Conversations export as Markdown or JSON. Uploaded files are not included. MemoryPlugin trust: export. Verified .
Check what is missing
Compare the export with your buckets and chat history. Keep uploaded originals separately, then remove details you do not want to carry forward.
MemoryPlugin memory buckets export as CSV, JSON or plain text. Conversations export as Markdown or JSON. Uploaded files are not included. MemoryPlugin trust: export. Verified .
Import and review
Check the destination accepts your format. Try a small batch, read what arrived and correct it before relying on it. Bring your exported conversations into your review queue. You choose what to keep. Nothing is saved until you confirm.
Claude memory is exported from Settings, Your Claude, Manage next to Your memory, or by asking Claude to write out its memories of you verbatim, then copying the text into a file. Claude says imports are experimental and its memory focuses on work-related topics, so personal details may not be kept. Claude Help Centre: Importing and exporting your memory from Claude. Verified .
When is MemoryPlugin the better choice?
If you want one memory in web chats across many tools through a browser extension, MemoryPlugin offers a connection AI Twin does not offer. AI Twin connects to outside assistants through MCP connectors only. Assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission. ChatGPT needs a plan that supports custom MCP connectors with developer mode.
MemoryPlugin shares one memory across 21+ AI tools, including ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity, DeepSeek, Mistral, Cursor, Claude Code and Codex. It connects through Chrome and Safari browser extensions, a Custom GPT, an MCP server, a TypingMind plugin and an OpenAPI spec. Its FAQ describes a macOS sync app, but the feature list also labels the desktop app coming soon. MemoryPlugin platforms and pricing. Verified .
Full MCP support, including write actions, is a beta for Business, Enterprise and Edu on ChatGPT on the web. Pro can connect MCP servers with read and fetch permissions in developer mode. Web only. Not available on Plus or Free. OpenAI Help Centre: Developer mode and MCP. Verified .
Questions people ask about AI memory
Where does MemoryPlugin store my memory?
MemoryPlugin uses US-based infrastructure. EU and UK transfers rely on Standard Contractual Clauses. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, but is not end-to-end encrypted. Named sub-processors include Supabase, Zilliz, Vercel, Trigger.dev and Resend. AI features send relevant content to providers including OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, without zero-data-retention agreements. MemoryPlugin is operated by Crestify Solutions Private Limited in India. Its privacy policy describes primarily US-based vendors and Standard Contractual Clauses for EU and UK transfers.
MemoryPlugin trust. Verified .
MemoryPlugin privacy policy. Verified .
Can I export from MemoryPlugin?
MemoryPlugin memory buckets export as CSV, JSON or plain text. Conversations export as Markdown or JSON. Uploaded files are not included.
MemoryPlugin trust: export. Verified .
Does MemoryPlugin have a trial or refund window?
MemoryPlugin Core is shown as $89 a year, with the last 500 chat conversations and unlimited memories. Pro is $180 a year, with unlimited chat history and a knowledge graph in early beta. Prices use a $ sign without a currency code. Its 7-day free trial needs a card, and a refund can be requested within 14 days of a charge.
MemoryPlugin pricing. Verified .
Can deleted synced chats return?
MemoryPlugin deletes are permanent. Deleted synced chats can return on the next sync unless excluded. Deleted content can remain in encrypted backups until normal rotation, typically within 30 days. To close your account, email support; deletion is targeted within 30 days.
MemoryPlugin trust: deletion. Verified .
Does AI Twin work through a browser extension?
No. Assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission. ChatGPT requires an eligible custom MCP connector plan with developer mode. Nothing is saved until you confirm. Export any time. Full MCP support, including write actions, is a beta for Business, Enterprise and Edu on ChatGPT on the web. Pro can connect MCP servers with read and fetch permissions in developer mode. Web only. Not available on Plus or Free.
OpenAI Help Centre: Developer mode and MCP. Verified .
What we checked
MemoryPlugin platforms and pricing. Verified .
MemoryPlugin trust. Verified .
OpenAI Help Centre: Memory FAQ. Verified .
Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .
Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified .
MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .
Mem0 docs: MCP integration. Verified .
Supermemory docs: Supermemory MCP. Verified .
MemoryPlugin privacy policy. Verified .
Claude Help Centre: Importing and exporting your memory from Claude. Verified .
OpenAI Help Centre: Developer mode and MCP. Verified .
OpenAI: Memory and new controls for ChatGPT. Verified .
OpenAI Help Centre: Memory in ChatGPT. Verified .
OpenAI Help Centre: Exporting your ChatGPT history and data. Verified .
Supermemory pricing. Verified .
Mem0 privacy policy. Verified .
Mem0 pricing. Verified .
What should I read next?
- The best AI memory apps in 2026
- What is the best MCP memory server for Claude?
- How do I move my memory from ChatGPT to Claude?
- Does the ChatGPT data export include my memories?
- Which AI memory apps store your data in the UK?
AI Twin is a personal AI memory layer, built in the UK. It keeps what matters to you as typed, searchable memory stored in the UK, and assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission.

