MCP MEMORY SERVERS FOR CLAUDE

What is the best MCP memory server for Claude?

We make AI Twin, which is on this list.

It depends on where you use Claude. A remote server, added as a custom connector, works in Claude on the web, desktop and phone; the free plan allows one. A local server runs only in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, and keeps memory on your computer. Below, each option with where it stores your memory.

Last verified

Claude Help Centre: When to use desktop and web connectors. Verified .

Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

Do I need a remote or a local memory server?

There are two kinds. A remote server is added to Claude as a custom connector and works across Claude's apps. A local server runs on your own computer, only in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, and keeps memory on your disk.

Remote connectors work in Claude on the web, desktop and mobile apps, Cowork and Claude Code. Desktop extensions run locally and are only available in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, not on web or mobile. Claude Help Centre: When to use desktop and web connectors. Verified .

Custom connectors over remote MCP on every plan. Free is limited to one. Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

How do the MCP memory servers for Claude compare?

MCP memory servers for Claude, from each project's own pages. Checked 23 October 2026.
KindWhere your memory is storedCost as publishedWho it suits
AI TwinRemoteYour memory is stored in the UK (London).Personal is £18 a month. Everything is free for the first 7 days. No card needed. Add one when you decide to stay.One person who wants memory held in the UK, reviewed before anything is kept, and read by assistants that support MCP connectors.
Basic MemoryLocal, with a hosted Cloud option

Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified .

Basic Memory is open source (AGPL-3.0) and keeps notes as Markdown files on your disk; local use is free. Basic Memory Cloud is shown as $15.00 a month with a 7-day free trial and is hosted on Tigris S3; no region is stated. It connects to Claude Desktop through its MCP config, and Cloud offers one-click connection. Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified .

People comfortable with Markdown files and a terminal.
Littlebird MCPRemote

Littlebird says it is hosted on AWS, US East region, with data encrypted in transit and at rest. Its screen text is stored in the US cloud. Littlebird help centre: Privacy and security. Verified .

Littlebird MCP is on Plus, Power and Pro, not Basic. Plus is shown as $17 a month billed annually ($204 up front). Littlebird pricing. Verified .

People who already use Littlebird.
MCP reference memory serverLocal

The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .

Free, MIT licensed.

The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx. MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .

Developers comfortable editing claude_desktop_config.json.
Mem MCPRemote

Mem says it encrypts content in transit and at rest, is hosted on Google Cloud, and has SOC 2 Type II. It does not state the hosting region. Mem security. Verified .

Mem MCP is a hosted server for your Mem notes and collections. It works with Claude, ChatGPT, Claude Code CLI, Codex CLI and Gemini CLI, and can capture, search, organise and manage notes. The MCP page does not say which Mem plans include it. Mem docs: MCP overview. Verified .

People who already keep notes in Mem.
Mem0 MCPRemote

Mem0's privacy policy says personal information is stored and processed on cloud infrastructure run by its providers, some of which, and Mem0's own operations, are in the United States and other countries. It does not name a UK storage option. Mem0 privacy policy. Verified .

Mem0's pricing page lists Hobby free with 10,000 add requests and 1,000 retrieval requests a month, Starter at $19 a month, Pro at $249 a month and a custom Enterprise plan. Prices are shown with a $ sign and no currency code. Mem0 pricing. Verified .

Mem0 runs a hosted MCP server at https://mcp.mem0.ai/mcp; nothing runs on your machine. Sign-in is in the browser by default, or with an API key, and it needs a Mem0 Platform account. Its setup page lists Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and OpenCode, and does not mention ChatGPT. In Claude you add it as a custom connector. The page does not say which Mem0 plans include MCP. Mem0 docs: MCP integration. Verified .

Developers building agents.
Supermemory MCPRemoteNot stated on the pages we checked.

Supermemory's pricing page lists Free at $0 a month with $5 of credits renewed monthly, Pro at $19, Max at $100, Scale at $399 and custom Enterprise. Prices are shown with a $ sign and no currency code. Supermemory pricing. Verified .

Developers building agents.
Zep and GraphitiRemote (Zep cloud) or self-hosted (Graphiti)

Zep's paid Flex plans run on Zep's own cloud. Running Zep in your own cloud (BYOC) is an Enterprise option. Zep does not name its cloud regions on its pricing page or FAQ. Zep pricing. Verified .

Zep's open-source Graphiti (Apache 2.0) includes an MCP server. Self-hosting needs Python 3.10 or later, a graph database such as Neo4j or FalkorDB, and an LLM API key; OpenAI is the default. Graphiti on GitHub. Verified .

Zep's pricing page lists a free tier with 10,000 credits a month and 1 Context MCP Server seat, Flex at $125 a month with 50,000 credits and 5 seats, Flex Plus at $375 a month with 200,000 credits and 15 seats, and a custom Enterprise plan. Prices are shown with a $ sign and no currency code. Zep plans include Context MCP Server seats. Zep pricing. Verified .

Developers building agents.

Which one suits me?

If you only use Claude and are happy with Claude's own memory, you may not need a server at all.

Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. You view and edit, pause or reset it in Settings, Capabilities. Incognito chats are left out. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .

Best AI memory apps

How do I add a memory server to Claude?

  1. Add a remote connector

    On Pro and Max: Customize, Connectors, + Add, Add custom connector, enter a name and the server URL, then Add. On Team and Enterprise an owner adds it in Organization settings, Connectors, then members click Connect. Free allows one connector. Then switch the connector on in the chat you are in.

    Custom connectors over remote MCP on every plan. Free is limited to one. Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

  2. Add a local server

    In Claude Desktop: Settings, Extensions, Browse extensions, or add a custom .mcpb extension. Local servers run only in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, not on web or mobile.

    Local MCP servers install in Claude Desktop from Settings, Extensions, Browse extensions, or as a custom .mcpb extension. Claude Help Centre: Getting started with local MCP servers on Claude Desktop. Verified .

    Remote connectors work in Claude on the web, desktop and mobile apps, Cowork and Claude Code. Desktop extensions run locally and are only available in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, not on web or mobile. Claude Help Centre: When to use desktop and web connectors. Verified .

  3. AI Twin's server address

    The AI Twin server URL is https://ai-twin.app/mcp. Add it as a custom connector using the steps above.

Is it safe to connect a memory server to Claude?

AI Twin's own limits: LOW and MEDIUM memory can leave by default. HIGH leaves only with your per-destination opt-in. CRITICAL never leaves. Nothing is saved until you confirm. Its connector offers four tools: Searches your Twin's memory and returns what is relevant, within the sharing level you have allowed. Returns your most recent Brief. Returns your upcoming key dates. Suggests something for your Twin to remember. It lands in your review queue. Nothing is saved until you confirm.

Anthropic says custom connectors link Claude to services it has not verified, that you should only connect servers from organisations you trust, that a malicious server can hide instructions, and that you should choose Allow always only for tools you trust to run unsupervised. Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

What does Claude remember without a server?

Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. You view and edit, pause or reset it in Settings, Capabilities. Incognito chats are left out. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .

Searching and citing past chats is on paid plans (Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise). You switch it off in Settings, Capabilities, Search and reference chats. Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .

Questions people ask about AI memory

Can I use an MCP memory server on Claude's free plan?

Custom connectors over remote MCP on every plan. Free is limited to one.

Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

Do local memory servers work in the Claude phone app?

No. Remote connectors work in Claude on the web, desktop and mobile apps, Cowork and Claude Code. Desktop extensions run locally and are only available in Claude Desktop and Claude Code, not on web or mobile. Local MCP servers install in Claude Desktop from Settings, Extensions, Browse extensions, or as a custom .mcpb extension.

Claude Help Centre: When to use desktop and web connectors. Verified .

Claude Help Centre: Getting started with local MCP servers on Claude Desktop. Verified .

Which MCP memory servers store memory in the UK?

Of those checked, AI Twin states the UK (London). Local servers keep files on your own computer. Mem0 and Littlebird state the US. The rest do not state a region on the pages we checked. Mem0's privacy policy says personal information is stored and processed on cloud infrastructure run by its providers, some of which, and Mem0's own operations, are in the United States and other countries. It does not name a UK storage option. Littlebird says it is hosted on AWS, US East region, with data encrypted in transit and at rest. Its screen text is stored in the US cloud.

Mem0 privacy policy. Verified .

Littlebird help centre: Privacy and security. Verified .

Is the MCP reference memory server free?

The MCP project's reference memory server, @modelcontextprotocol/server-memory, stores a knowledge graph of entities, relations and observations in a local JSON file (memory.json by default). It is MIT licensed and is added to Claude Desktop through claude_desktop_config.json with npx.

MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .

Does Claude's own memory replace an MCP memory server?

It can. If you only use Claude and its own memory covers what you need, a separate server adds little. Memory is on by default for Free, Pro and Max on the web, desktop and mobile apps; on Enterprise an owner allows it. Searching past chats is on paid plans only. You view and edit, pause or reset it in Settings, Capabilities. Incognito chats are left out.

Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .

What we checked

Claude Help Centre: When to use desktop and web connectors. Verified .

Claude Help Centre: Custom connectors. Verified .

Claude Help Centre: Memory. Verified .

Claude Help Centre: Getting started with local MCP servers on Claude Desktop. Verified .

Mem0 privacy policy. Verified .

Littlebird help centre: Privacy and security. Verified .

MCP reference memory server on npm. Verified .

Basic Memory on GitHub. Verified .

mem0.ai. Verified .

getzep.com. Verified .

supermemory.ai. Verified .

Mem docs: MCP overview. Verified .

Littlebird pricing. Verified .

Mem security. Verified .

Mem0 pricing. Verified .

Mem0 docs: MCP integration. Verified .

Supermemory pricing. Verified .

Zep pricing. Verified .

Graphiti on GitHub. Verified .

AI memory

AI Twin is a personal AI memory layer, built in the UK. It keeps what matters to you as typed, searchable memory stored in the UK, and assistants that support MCP connectors, such as Claude, can read it with your permission.